The Cobbler Rainbowcy/ Sorbet DITFT

Chapter One

Posted on: March 29, 2010

 

“The fire that consumed the Sunset Valley Orphanage has finally been put out. Sunset Valley’s firefighters are leaving the scene at this moment. Local police have reported that three children have died in the blaze. Eyewitnesses claim to have seen three men and one woman run into the burning building to save the children that were trapped inside. Those four brave souls are being treated at Sunset Valley General Hospital this evening. What a tragic, tragic day. This is Jill Evans reporting for Channel 6 news.”

Three Months Later….

“Where did I end up?”

Oh, hi there. My name is Scarlett Edgecomb. I recently left my comfy, large city house in Sunset Valley and am on my way to sunny Florida. Unfortunately I’m not the best map reader and I ended up in a place called Riverview.

What makes matters even worse is that I have no money. None, zilch, nada. Fate has not been on my side for the past year. So naturally, I’m stranded in a strange town on my way to Florida with no money. Great plan, Scarlett, great plan.

Luckily I came across this farmhouse shortly after arriving. Maybe the people who live here can help me out. Won’t hurt to try, right? As I walk down the stoned path I hear a rustling sound coming from behind the house. I couldn’t help my curiosity, I noiselessly opened the white gate and went around back to see the source of the noise.

 

The rustling was caused by a man harvesting an apple tree. A handsome man at that. Maybe this place isn’t so bad after all.

“Excuse me! Sir?”

 

I watched as the man turned around. He paused for a moment, hands wrapped around a plump, red apple as he looked at me. He left the apple and walked towards me. As he came closer I could see that his eyes were a beautiful blue.

“Hi, sorry to bother you. My name is Scarlett Edgecomb.”

“I’m Jake. Jake Miller. Can I help you with something?”

“I’m on my way to Florida and I got lost. Do you mind pointing me in the direction of a hotel?”

I watched as Jake looked me up and down. I was shocked when he began to laugh coldly.

 

“You’re a long way from home, city girl.”

And with that he walked away! I couldn’t believe it! I stood rooted to the spot as I watched him go into the house.

 

There was no way that I was going to let him disrespect me like that, so I followed him. I followed him through the white fence gate, up the stone walkway and right to the front door. The double glass doors with the dark wooden boarder slammed in my face. I was in complete shock. This guy didn’t even know me!

 

I rang the doorbell a few times before an elderly man answered the door.

“Hello my dear, my name is Anthony Miller. I must apologize for my son’s behavior. That is no way to treat a young lady. Come inside.”

“Thanks.” I answered, taken aback. I hadn’t expected him to act so nice.

“Now, tell me your story.” Anthony told me.

He listened intently as I explained my situation to him.

“Well, until you get yourself some money to get to Florida, you are welcome to stay here. We have a spare room in the barn. It’s no Hilton, but it’s quite cozy.”

“Really? You mean it?” I asked in disbelief.

“Of course.” Anthony smiled.

 

I was so overjoyed that I gave him a hug. I think my forwardness surprised him at first, but he laughed and returned the hug.

 

It’s a good thing that Anthony was so nice to me. My luck seems to have ceased its downward spiral.  At least, for tonight, I have a roof over my head. This sure beats sleeping under a bridge…

8 Responses to "Chapter One"

Ooooh, I want more!!

Great start! I really like the intro with the news report. Very clever. Off to read chapter 2.

Thank you for linking my story!!

thanks for reading iamberry2! i no problem for linking your story. i love your work! 🙂

hmmm, she doesn’t seem like she’d be one of the children from the orphanage…or is she the woman who ran in to save them? hmmmmmmmmmmm!

I like your story very much, and i see you’ve posted chapter 2!

i’m glad you like the story :), i really appreciate all of the feeback. i wasn’t sure if anyone was going to read it lol.

Hi there.. I’m new to your blog. But I really really enjoy this opening… big lol..on her way to Fla.. ending up in Riverview… hilarious….

I’m Jed by the way and you’ll prob see me commenting more often now 🙂

welcome! 🙂 i’m glad that you’re enjoying the story so far. i had to look back and see which chapter one you commented on, i believe this story is over a year old now :3 i hope you enjoy the rest of the story and my rainbowcy (if you’re interested that is 😉 )

I love reading rainbowcies, those sims are so pretty, so sparkly… You have more than a year on me,…my legacy thingy is barely a month old and I have to reread the episode people post on… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Cobbler Rainbowcy Heir

Generation Two

Sorbet DITFT Heir

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 26,386 hits
