The Cobbler Rainbowcy/ Sorbet DITFT

Chapter Two

Posted on: March 29, 2010

My first night at the Miller’s home was very interesting. I quickly began to realize that these people were much different from myself. The Millers were completely different from anyone I’ve ever met. They didn’t believe in designer clothes or shopping malls or expensive electronics. If fact, Anthony mentioned to me that he was a bit of a technophobe. No tv, ipod, or internet? This was going to be a challenge.

 

Anthony’s wife, Mayble, insisted that she make her specialty dish of homemade macaroni and cheese for dinner.

“Mrs. Miller? I’d be happy to help you make dinner. Will you be using fresh blue cheese for the macaroni? Oh, and do you have smoked salmon? I love to have fresh smoked salmon on a piece of toasted french bread.”

Mayble finally turned away from her oven to look at me. Although, she  looked at me as though I had sprouted another head.

“Ah, I’m using regular cheddar cheese for the macaroni, dear. I’m afraid we don’t have smoked salmon or french bread. Why don’t you make yourself comfortable? Away from the kitchen.”

I watched as she bent her head over the pan on the stove once more. I frowned slightly, then heard a faint sound of cheering coming from the second floor.

“That boy, I knew he snuck in a television last week.” I heard Anthony grumble as he walked to the bottom of the staircase; “You better get that, that…technology out of my house! You hear me, Jake?” he shouted up the steps.

“Don’t know what you’re talking about, Pop!” Jake’s voice muffled down from the floor above.

Anthony turned to me and smiled; “Oh, Scarlett! Sorry, I didn’t know you were behind me. Do me a favor, spy on Jake will you? I know he’s got a television up there in his room. Go check for me.”

“Sure thing.” I laughed. My heels clanked loudly with each step as I made my way to the second floor. I gazed at the family pictures that were hung on the wall as I got closer to the sound of cheering. I noticed a picture of a young boy riding a brown horse just before I opened the door at the end of the hallway. I wondered if the young boy was Jake.

I shrugged to myself before opening Jake’s bedroom door. I saw that Anthony’s theory was correct. There sat a small flat screen television next to the bed. A brown tattered couch was set against the wall next to the bedroom door. I quickly shut the door and sat down next to the room’s owner.

“What are you doing here?” Jake asked not tearing his eyes away from the soccer game he was watching.

“Spying on you. You’re busted.” I answered lightly, hoping that the comment would break a smile across his face.

Unfortunately, it didn’t. He glared at me a moment before replying; “Get out of my room, will you? I don’t remember inviting you in here. In fact I don’t remember inviting you in my house.”

“Your father invited me in his house. Besides there is no reason for you to get so upset with me! I’ve never done anything to you! We just met!” I retorted a little loudly then I wanted to. He was beginning to upset me.

Before Jake could answer, Mayble’s voice floated up from the kitchen; “Dinner’s ready!”

I was surprised that Mayble didn’t join us for dinner. Anthony shrugged off her absence by replying that she enjoyed painting at this hour. Jake, on the other hand, refused to look or say anything to me.

The macaroni and cheese was the best that I had ever eaten in my entire life. It was even better than some of the gourmet restaurants in Sunset Valley! The gooey cheese covered every noodle. Each forkful melted in my mouth with a perfect flavor of cheese with a hint of pepper.

“Since you’re going to be staying here until you earn enough money to reach Florida, I suggest you find a job.” Anthony was saying. I was too transfixed on the delicious meal in front of me until…

 

“..cough..what do you mean she’s staying here?” Jake choked.

I jumped slightly at his loud cough while his father patted him hard on the back.

“Until she gets back on her feet, I’ve decided to let her live here. It’s the least we can do to help out.” Anthony explained.

“You’re joking right? How do you know that she’s not a criminal? She could steal our possessions while we sleep! She’s from the city, Dad!”

“I’m sure that Miss Edgecomb is not a criminal.” Anthony replied continuing to eat his dinner.

I couldn’t understand why Jake resented me so much. I excused myself to the bathroom before things got too out of hand. I closed the wooden door and sunk to the cool, blue tiled floor of the bathroom. Was there something that Jake knew about me? No, that’s absurd. We’ve only just met today.

I push myself off the floor slowly. Why was he so cruel? It seems as though my bad luck has resurfaced again….

“Hey! Get out of here!” I screamed as Jake sauntered through the bathroom door.

His eyes got as wide as dinner plates when he realized that he had walked in on me; “Jesus! Sorry!”

The door slammed shut. I closed my eyes in embarrassment Had I not just excused myself to come in here? I finished my business,washed my hands, then slowly opened the door. I was so embarrassed, but I picked up what was left of my pride and went to the barn.

I crawled into bed. My cheeks were still burning with embarrassment as I drifted to sleep. Tomorrow was a going to be a busy day. I needed to find a job so I could earn money to get to Florida. Who knows how much time I have before they find me…

Tags:

6 Responses to "Chapter Two"

ROFL!! Love the pic of Jake choking on his mac and cheese when he receives the news that Scarlett is going to be staying with them. What is his PROBLEM!! LOL!! I can’t wait to find out.

lol…i’m glad that you’re liking the story so far! i love the pic of jake chokig on the mac and cheese too. surprisingly that picture took forever to take. everytime i was ready to take a pic. of him eating he wouldn’t do that! lol..but finally (!) he did 🙂

lol! How embarrassing! Poor girl. Men just have no common sense sometime…or maybe he did on purpose. hmmmm…

They keep invading eachother’s space! Maybe Jake wants to be a city boy with his fancy television? tehe.

lol love the pic of jake coughing up cheese!

oh GEEZ, what a doofus!
I laughed so hard, though!

Leave a comment

Cobbler Rainbowcy Heir

Generation Two

Sorbet DITFT Heir

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 26,869 hits